OIC Online Summit

 

Exchange-Listed Options and Your Portfolio: Strategies for Income and Protection

Your investment portfolio may be missing an ingredient beyond the usual equities, fixed income, and cash. With low volatility yet high uncertainty, investors and advisors may want to consider exchange-listed options for potentially improved risk-adjusted returns.

Join us on Thursday, June 15, 2017 from 12 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. ET.

SESSION 1 – How Advisors Find Opportunities with Options to Enhance Portfolios

Moderated by Eric Cott
Panel: Sheri Redford, Nick Rygiel, Stefan Rosuck
(11 am – 12 pm CT | 12 - 1 PM ET)

When financial advisors and investors think of building a portfolio, often they think of traditional asset classes like equities, fixed income, and cash. But this approach does not fully solve for risk management when markets go south or solve for a low yield environment. Exchange-listed options help advisors and their clients build strategies that can protect and enhance their portfolios. In this lively panel discussion, you will hear from experienced financial advisors on how and why they use options to help their clients.

Learn how to use options like a fearless investor. Here, you'll learn about the benefits of investing with options and their basic usage. Topics will include long calls and puts plus insight into basic-level strategies for options investors.

Register Now


SESSION 2 – Tapping into the Power of Options for Income Generation

Presented by Ed Modla
(12:30 – 1:30 pm CT | 1:30 – 2:30 pm ET)

Interest rates are increasing, but are still very low. If an investor is starved for income from their portfolios, that’s where options can come in. Exchange-listed options can provide investors with a way to generate income in up, down, and sideways markets while potentially reducing portfolio risk. Join the Options Industry Council as we discuss options income generating strategies including credit spreads, iron condors, covered calls and more!

Register Now


SESSION 3 – Options Protection Strategies Every Investor Should Know

Moderated by Joe Burgoyne
Featured guests: Peter Lusk, Bill Ryan
(2:00 – 3:00 pm CT | 3:00 – 4:00 pm ET)

2016 was a record breaking year for the number of news stories that contain the word “uncertainty.” In fact, since 1990, the use of the word has not been higher. The toughest challenge for investors is to learn how to manage risk in their portfolio. That challenge can include finding a solution for a potential worst case scenario. This session led by the Options Industry Council will review three risk-reducing strategies that can help almost all investors have a solution for uncertain times.

Register Now


SESSION 4 – Incorporating Exchange-Listed Options into Index and Portfolio Strategies

Keynote Speaker: Joanne Hill, Ph.D
(3:30 – 4:30 pm CT | 4:30 – 5:30 pm ET)

Because options have a limited life, it is more challenging to evaluate the portfolio impact of ongoing option strategies used as an overlay to equity exposure. Option strategy indexes can illustrate how to combine options and equity index or ETF positions to reshape return patterns for the purpose of reducing downside risk, amplifying upside returns, or increasing income. Some of these indexes are now available in mutual funds and ETFs. This session will discuss the performance features of indexes combined with options as a means to reduce risk, enhance income, or provide an alternative to "smart beta" strategies based on stock selection.

No ratings yet
Email Options Professionals

Questions about anything options-related?
Email an options professional now.

options@theocc.com
Speak to an Options Professional!
Chat with Options Professionals

Questions about anything options-related?
Chat with an options professional now.

Start Live Chat

REGISTER FOR THE OPTIONS
EDUCATION PROGRAM

  • Free, unbiased options education
  • Learn in-person and online
  • Advance at your own pace